Guests 2016


Mahamat-Saleh Haroun (born 1961) is a Chadian filmmaker living in France. He left Chad during the dictatorship of the 1980s. In 1999 his debut film Bye Bye Africa won the award for Best First Film at the Venice Film Festival. He became the first Chadian director to win the Jury Prize in Cannes with his film A Screaming Man in 2010. Haroun is considered to be one of the most important contributors in African cinema today.

Hirokazu Koreeda (born 1962) is a filmmaker, screenwriter and director from Tokyo. Koreeda originally wanted to be a writer, but is today considered to be one of the most important people in the Japanese film industry. He has directed several award-winning feature films and documentaries. His latest film, After The Storm (2016) was shown in the Un Certain Regard-section of Cannes, and got rave reviews.

Fernanda de la Peza (born 1983) is educated in Communications from the Ibero-university of Mexico City. Peza has worked as an assistant director on a number of movies from 2005. Among them is Silent Light (2007) and Post Tenebras Lux (2012) by Carlos Reygadas, and Heli (2013) by Amat Escalante. She worked as a producer and editor on Amat Escalante’s newest feature, The Untamed (2016).

Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy (born 1978) is a Pakistani journalist, filmmaker and activist. She has worked as a producer on several films in over ten different countries. In 2012, Chinoy was listed among Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in The World. She has received six Emmys and was awarded an Oscar for her latest film about honour killings, A Girl in the River (2015). Her film Saving Face from 2012 also won an Oscar.

N.b.! Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy has cancelled her visit to this year's festival.

Priscilla Anany (born 1983) is a filmmaker from Ghana with a Master’s degree from The University of North Carolina’s School of Arts’ School of Filmmaking. Anany won the Best New Narrative Director award in Tribeca for her film Children of the Mountain (2016). She also runs i60 Productions, a Ghana-based production company. Anany is a champion of women’s rights, and tells stories about women through her films.
Mina Keshavarz (born 1984) is an Iranian documentary filmmaker and journalist. Keshavarz focuses on the life of women in today’s Iran through her films, and is considered an important figure in Iranian cinema. She is most known for her films At the End of a Perfect Day (2007), A Man Who Knows Everything (2007), Unwelcome in Teheran (2011) and Braving The Waves (2016).
Morten Traavik(born 1971) is a Norwegian director and multi-talented artist, known for ground-breaking international projects such as Miss Landmine (2008-9), Pimp My Aid Worker (2010) and Borderlines (2011). In 2010 he was the first, and to this day the only, «Artist in Residence» of The Norwegian Armed Forces. He is also known for his many projects in which he collaborated with North Korea.
Gabriel Mascaro (born 1983) is a Brazilian filmmaker and visual artist. He has made numerous documentaries and feature films. Mascaro’s movies have been screened at several festivals and cultural happenings and have taken home over 50 awards between them. Mascaro is often hailed as one of Brazil’s greatest storytellers, and through the camera lens he explores his country’s social barriers and norms. His latest feature is Neon Bull.
Amat Escalante (born 1979) is a filmmaker from Mexico. He started his film-career by the age of fifteen. His debut feature film Sangre (2005) won the FIPRESCI-award in Cannes that year, and in 2013 Escalante received the festival’s Best Director Award for Heli (2013). His newest film The Untamed won the Silver Lion for Best Directing during this year’s Venice Film Festival.

Mohammed Ali Naqvi (born 1979) is an award-winning director and producer. He is known for documentaries such as Among The Believers (2015), Pakistan’s Hidden Shame (2014), Shame (2006) and Terror’s Children (2003). Naqvi has also produced several feature films and short films. He is originally from Pakistan, and divides his time between Karachi and New York.

Vitaliy Manskiy (born 1963) is an esteemed Russian filmmaker of Jewish-Ukranian origins. In addition to having made over 30 films that have won over 50 international awards, he is also the founder of ArtDoc Fest in Russia. Since 1996 he has worked on collecting and archiving private films from regular people’s lives in the Soviet Union-era. His latest film is Under the Sun.
Kinan Azmeh (born 1976) is a highly regarded Syrian composer and clarinet player. He has a doctorate in music from City University of New York, and regularly tours the world. Azmeh is described as an intensely soulful and spellbinding musician. He is also a member of Yo-Yo Ma’s The Silk Road Ensemble, which is portrayed in the film The Music of Strangers (2015).
Gianfranco Rosi (born 1964) is an Italian documentary filmmaker born in Eritrea. He is a graduate from the New York University Film School. Rosi is perhaps most known for his film Sacro GRA (2013), which won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival, marking the first time a documentary had won that award. His latest film Fire at Sea (2016) won the Golden Bear for Best Film at the Berlin International Film Festival.

Taye Balogun is a filmmaker, photographer and activist from Nigeria. He has been active on the film scene for eight years and is known as a director of films, Broadway musicals and commercials - in addition to provocative photo exhibitions. Music is Our Weapon (2016) is his debut as a documentary filmmaker. Balogun resides in Kenya and is also engaged in African Artist Peace Initiative, an organization that uses art as a device for peacebuilding communication.

Ugis Olte (f.1981) is a Latvian director of documentaries, concert films and music videos. He is known for award-winning works in collaboration with pop group instrumenti, and for various works on TV. Olte’s documentary Double Aliens (2015) is about ethnic sense of identity among the Armenian minority in the ex-Soviet republic Georgia. Uģis Olte has co-directed Liberation Day (2016) with Morten Traavik.

Rayna Denison is a Senior Lecturer in Film and Media Studies at the University of East Anglia, UK. Rayna does research on contemporary Japanese cinema, with a special focus on animation. Her recent books include "Anime: A Critical Introduction" (Bloomsbury, 2015) and the Einser Award nominated collection "Superheroes on World Screens", edited with Rachel Mizsei-Ward. Rayna's forthcoming work includes another edited collection on the film Princess Mononoke (Bloomsbury, 2017) and a Special Issue of the Journal of East Asian Popular Culture celebrating 30 Years of Studio Ghibli (2017).

Mina Slats and Ivan Novak are members of the Slovenian band Laibach, founded in 1980. They refer to themselves as a music and "cross media" group. The name "Laibach" is the German form of "Ljubljana", Slovenia's capital. Laibach has always been associated with controversies, and met with strong reactions from political authorities in the former Yugoslavia and the Socialist Republic of Slovenia. Their militarist self-stylization and totalitarian aesthetics has raised many debates about their artistic and political positioning.