This years winners have been chosen!

During the award ceremony of Films from the South, two prominent guests were present. Honorary Award winner Hirokazu Kore-eda and actor Payam Madjlessi from the Audience Award winner For a Moment, Freedom.

Av , foto: Goeun Bae 18. okt 2009

Honorary Award to a honorary guest
The 2009 Films from the South Honorary Award goes to the Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda. Kore-eda is one of this year’s main guests and will be present during tonight’s award ceremony. Kore-eda receives the Honorary Award for his outstanding contribution to the art of film.

- We are very proud and enthusiastic over having yet another prominent figure in world cinema as one of our guests. Kore-eda Hirokazu has been compared to greats like Ozu and Mizoguchi, but has definitely developed his own filmic language. Kore-eda works in a sensitive landscape with people in intimate relationships, and he has a realistic way of storytelling in films that are still marked by a symbolically charged language, Julie Ova, General Manager of Films from the South, says.

The goal of this award is to honour a person who in a considerable way has contributed to the artistic quality and our experience of world cinema. Hirokazu Kore-eda’s film Still Walking (Arthaus) won also The Oslo Kino Release Award during this year’s festival. The winning film will receive financial support for a value of NOK 50,000 from Oslo Kino in connection with the release of the film. Still Walking will be released in Norwegian movie theatres on the 30th of October.

The Silver Mirror to the best film in the main competition
This year’s Silver Mirror goes to City of Life and Death (2009), directed by Chuan Lu from China.

The jury’s statement:
“The 2009 Silver Mirror goes to City of Life and Death (Nanjing! Nanjing!), directed by Lu Chuan and producd by China Film Group and Jiangsu Broadcasting System. The film’s powerful depiction of the Sino-Japanese War in 1937 shows how the brutality of war forms both soldiers and civilians. Using an intense filmic language and an unusual dramaturgy the film leads us from the terrible battle of Nanjing to the individual drama, with human fates that will remain with us long after the end of the film.”

The Silver Mirror is Films from the South’s own award and is given to the best film in the main programme. The award consists of NOK 100,000 and is intended to finance Norwegian distribution of the film. The jury consisted of Eva Sørhaug, the director of Cold Lunch, Hisham Zaman, a director of short films (Bawke, 2005) and Nina Refseth, the Director of the Norwegian Film Institute.

The FIPRESCI Award for best film in New Directions
This year’s FIPRESCI Award goes to the Thai film A Moment in June (2008), directed by O. Nathapon.

The jury’s statement:
“The film we believe deserve this year’s FIPRESCI Award is an elegant journey through time. It’s story is told in several layers but still appears seamless. Several modes of expression are joined and even though the director is utilising several devices from the theatre, the film is never experienced as static. The story is tied up in an ingenious fashion and keeps the viewer’s sense of wonder and attention to the very end. The film is innovative while still having roots in local culture and global storytelling traditions. We regard this film as part of the renaissance of Thai cinema. This year’s FIPRESCI Award goes to A Moment in June, directed by O. Nathapon.”

The FIPRESCI Award is an international film critics award and goes to the best film in New Directions. The winning film is guaranteed “S” Film support for a DVD release in Norway, distributed by Platekompaniet. The jury consisted of Karen Moe Møllerop, Marius Vartdal Kristoffersen and Jon Iversen.

The Dok:Sør Award for best film in the documentary competition
This year’s documentary jury has chosen Kim Longinotto’s Rough Aunties (2008) as the winner of the Dok:Sør Award.

The jury’s statement:
”In a programme where both classical documentary traditions and a more surprising use of the genre are represented, the Dok-Sør Award goes to a film that spans abuse of children, politics and love, in Kim Longinotto’ Rough Aunties.”

The award will secure a DVD release in Norway through Sherpa Distribution. The jury consisted of Helga Fjordholm, a producer, Truls Lie, editor and film critic, and Agnethe S. Buus Jensen.

The Audience Award
The film that got the most votes this year is For A moment, Freedom (2008) by Arash T. Riahi from Iran. The actor Payam Madjlessi was in Norway in connection with the festival and received the award on behalf of the film.
The Audience Award is chosen among all the films screened during FFS. The winning film will be bought by the TV channel NRK, and will be shown during the following year. The award has a value of NOK 75.000 kroner.