Awards Films From the South 2014

Eleven days of film festival is almost over. We hope you have had a wonderful experience so far, and that you will continue to be our guests in the future. Here are the winners of the awards for 2014. 

Av 31. okt 2014

Here are the winners of the awards for 2014. 

Special mention Silver Mirror:

The special mention of the jury goes to a film that in it's own language says more than the spoken word. The jury was particularly impressed by the fine sensibility of the storytelling and the precise choice of striking images. Set to a world between, or rather beyond borders, the film unveils a small but complex drama set in the crossfire of a bigger conflict. By subtle means the film shows the parallel, dramatic circle of life both for the small harvesting man and the forceful nature. The special mention of the jury goes to Corn Island by George Ovashvili.

The Silver Mirror Award 2014

With huge variety in this years programme the jury has unanimously chosen a film that is very impressive. The acting is extremely precise and sublime. The story is claustrophobic with great tension throughout. It has a well-written script where every minute is planned out. A chamber piece about hierarchy, equality and the longing to be a free human being. It is a provocative and strong story about the right to decide over your own life.

The silver mirror award 2014 goes to – Gett: The Trial Of Viviane Amsalem by Ronit Elkabetz and Shlomi Elkabetz.

This year’s jury consisted of Elisabeth Kvithyll, Moa Liljedahl and Eirik Svensson


Both films address issues of conflict and violence, and lead us, the audience, through the darkest and most vicious parts of the human history, yet manage to end on an optimistic and inspiring note.

Special Mention

This year’s Special Mention goes to a film that speaks to our emotions. It is a visually powerful film that portraits a way to see and engage in the world. The jury would like to honour The Salt of the Earth by the directors Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and Wim Wenders.

Winner of Doc:South 2014

This year’s winner is a film that is daring in it’s form, and with its theoretical approach combined with poignant archive material, problematize the western values, and model for progress and social structures. The film has a strong voice, which forces the audience to listen and reflect. It is based on a historical document, but the questions it raises are highly relevant today.

The winner is Concerning Violence by Göran Olson.

The jury consisted of  Lowri Reed, Ingrid Lill Høgtun, Anders Nybø.

Audience Award

The audiences have voted and this years winner of the Audience Award is Wild Tales by Damián Szifron. Widely popular during the festival, it will receive 65 000 NOK to help it launch and reach its cinema audiences, sponsored by Dagsavisen, Cinema and Natt og Dag.

Silver Mirror Honorary Award

This years Silver Mirror Honorary Award goes to an artist that in his fantastic career, and always with great energy, have been following his spectacular visions. He is a man that never has been forced to silence.

Each individual is a whole, crazy universe of it self, he says. This artist blurrs the boundaries between reality and dreams, and expands all worldly matters to a galactic quest. Who we are, what we are, what we will become – is his concern. He is an auteur that challenges our perception of life.

It is with great honour and our deepest appreciation that this years Silver Mirror Honorary Award goes to Alejandro Jodorowsky.